Workshop on

Topological Dynamics

Department of
Mathematical and Computational Sciences
National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal
10 – 12 December, 2015
Organisers: Dr. V. Murugan and Dr. P. Sam Johnson


Accommodation is arranged for all the participants.
For Boys- 8th Block Hostel
Girls/Ladies -Girls Hostel
1. Prasanna Lakshmi (Girls Hostel): 9591946178
2. Srinivasarao(Boys Hostel) :9740249480
Other contacts:
1. Chaithanya: 9740767444
2. Ramu: 9480855753
Information :
1. Workshop starts at 8:30
2. Registration : 8:00 AM-8:30 AM
3. Breakfast 7:30 AM-8:30 AM

List of Selected Participants for tody2015

Click here for Selected Participants List

About the workshop

Iteration exists almost every part of our real life. The study of iteration of continuous selfmap on a topological space, called topological dynamics or discrete dynamical systems, began with the work of Poincare and G.D. Birkhoff. The subject is interesting and challenging as even ordinary functions exhibit extremely complicated behavior under iteration.

Though much of the subject can be studied without high-level mathematics, unfortunately,many universities/institutions do not include the subject in the post-graduate level. We hope that the workshop will generate interest in topological dynamics and invite many young minds to do research in this area.

Topics to be covered

Eligibility for participation

M.Sc. Students, research scholars, post-doctoral fellows and college teachers who have studied topology and functional analysis can apply for the workshop. Limited number of participants would get reimbursement of TA for their travel in II Sleeper class by train.

Resource Persons

  1. Prof. V. Kannan,Central University of Hyderabad
  2. Dr. I. Subramania Pillai, Pondicherry Univ., Pondicherry
  3. Dr. B.R. Shankar, NITK Surathkal, Mangaluru
  4. Dr. D. Sukumar, IIT Hyderabad
  5. Dr. K. Akbar Ali, Central University of Kerala, Kasargod
  6. Dr. Tarakanta Nayak,IIT Bhubaneswar

How to apply

Download applications from here(Editable Format)

Completed application forms should reach to

Dr. V. Murugan / Dr. P. Sam Johnson
Department of MACS,
NITK Surathkal, Mangaluru-575025.

on or before 13th November, 2015. List of selected candidates will be displayed in the website by 14th November 2015.

Free accomodation (on sharing) will be provided to selected participants.

Click here for information  brouchure